Maxine Hong Kingston

Kingston wrote The Woman Warrior: Memoir of a Girlhood Among Ghosts in 1976 and I read it quickly, like I was gulping down water, in the Spring of 2011. I was lucky enough to hear her speak not long after. Her talent, activism, and energy inspired me (she was born in 1940 and shows no signs of slowing down!).

From The Poetry Foundation:

The daughter of Chinese immigrants, poet, memoirist, and fiction writer Maxine Hong Kingston was born in Stockton, California, and educated at the University of California–Berkeley.

maxine hong kingston poet warrior woman memioirKingston is the author of the book-length poem I Love a Broad Margin to My Life(2011). Walt Whitman influenced her, and the poetic lines in the book shift between real and imagined time, tracing the writer’s journey. Discussing her decision to compose I Love a Broad Margin to My Life as a book-length, free verse poem, Kingston spoke in an interview of the decade each of her previous two books had taken to write and her desire for a lighter, faster form. She noted, “there is not enough time to write everything that one is feeling and thinking—and I have thought that my whole writing life.”

If you are interested in some of the things Kingston mentions in the excerpt from “I love a broad margin”, here are some interesting links:

Leave a Reply

