My Heart and Other Black Holes

I read NPR’s review of  Jasmine Warga’s My Heart and Other Black Holes. The book, Warga’s first novel, follows Aysel, who is sixteen and contemplating suicide. Online, Aysel meets Roman, a teenage boy who is also considering ending his life. Their relationship, founded on their mutual desire to end their lives, begins to make Aysel doubt if she can or should go through with her plan, and what that means for Roman.

Warga’s website says she loves lemonade and iced coffee (ah, a girl after my own heart) and that her second book will be published in 2016. She has a Tumblr you can follow here:

Reading about this book has me intrigued. I think it is really important that young people’s lives not be reduced the “kids these days” type grumblings about Snapchat and Miley Cyrus (is she still the one that is thought to be corrupting? Or have we moved on to Ariana Grande and Kylie Jenner?). A book that treats teens and depression as serious matters is very welcome and very necessary,

And I love the title. It reminds me of Gabriel García Márquez’s Of Love and Other Demons. I can remember being blown away by that title when I read the book in high school.

Leave a Reply

